How Do You Spell Disappointment?

March 17, 2009

We had a very intense weekend as my oldest daughter competed in the Regional Spelling Bee. She is a studious, serious, high achiever, who, after winning the local bee, studied her heart out to prepare for this last weekend. She knew how to spell words like perfidy, penitentiary, taupe, boysenberry, nadir, contiguous, and picaresque.  However, as the bee got underway, she was given the word “geta.”  What?  How is that possible? Even now, as I write this, my spell-check says that this is not a correctly spelled word. She gave it her very best shot and we all shared her disappointment as the judge said, “Pause…incorrect.”  What was particularly difficult is that she knew all of the subsequent words, outside of ustion and pfeffernuss.

 

So, since the bee, I have been in a bit of a funk. I keep trying to come back to the life lesson my daughter learned (and one that I need to be reminded of again and again)…there is so much in life we cannot control! Had she been given another word, she might be on her way to Washington in late May. So many things could have influenced whether or not that would have happened.

 

I was given another opportunity to be faced with my lack of control as I baked Dorie’s French Yogurt Cake on Sunday. This was the weekly selection from the Tuesdays With Dorie Group. I looked forward to the chance to bake a simple cake, with hopefully good results.  I thought I had followed the directions completely. It appeared to be done when I removed it from the oven, and yet half of it stayed behind when I tried to flip it out of the loaf pan. Disappointment!!! How many times have I baked a loaf cake with perfect results? Yet this time, some aspect of it had been out of my control. Once I patched it together, we all decided that the flavor was familiar and luscious, a perfect foil to strawberries and whipped cream. It was also another message that we have control over only small aspects of our lives and we are constantly reminded of this through life’s unexpected disappointments and joys.

3 Responses to “How Do You Spell Disappointment?”

  1. jane S Says:

    I am so sorry on all accounts. In terms of the bee what a drag she is such a great kid and speller. In terms of the cake, as you know I have had similar experiences many times. Glad you could at least enjoy it!! Keep up the blogging i love it

  2. Jennifer Says:

    Oh, gosh, your poor daughter! I think if you ask around, you’ll find everyone has a spelling bee horror story. Mine is lyre. I didn’t ask for a definition and spelled liar!

    My cake thankfully didn’t stick, but a bundt cake I made earlier in the week did, so I can totally understand your frustation.

  3. pamela Says:

    Well, that just stinks for your daughter! How disappointing. Sorry the cake gave you some troubles, too. But at least you ended up enjoying it!


Leave a Reply

