Looks Can Be Deceiving!

April 7, 2009

I really do have something in mind I’d like to write about. Another opportunity to think, very deeply, about life through the lens of baking. But, it is Tuesday! I am at work. I have a long day ahead of me and no time to get my thoughts down before it is midnight and my opportunity to blog with my Tuesdays with Dorie group will expire. So (now I have one minute to spare), if I had time to write more, I would tell you about Cameron and my second attempt at making Whoopie pies (lemon this time), how great they were, and how ugly they looked. I would tell you some of my thoughts about how this translates to life in general. I would also tell you about what at first appeared to be a complete fiasco while baking the banana cream pie (the crust looked horrible…I forgot to put in the vegetable shortening until the very end) and yet, ultimately it turned out quite well. Things do not always turn out as they seem. Looks CAN be deceiving. I had actually decided to not go through with the pie because of the crust, and then my family told me the crust was perfect! Another lesson to be contemplated and discussed on another day.

One Response to “Looks Can Be Deceiving!”

  1. Annette Says:

    I almost threw in the towel when a big chunk my crust came up as I was spreading the custard! I persevered and my parents loved it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

