I Hate Change!!!

April 28, 2009

It’s true! I really hate change. I would think nothing of eating the same breakfast every day or keeping a daily schedule that I adhere to day in and day out. I tend to follow yearly birthday and holiday rituals with as little variation as possible. I travel to France and the Pacific Northwest as often as possible. When I go, I tend to gain much more pleasure from visiting my old familiar haunts as compared to seeking out new experiences (although I try to do a bit of that). How many times can a person go on the Fat Tire Bike Tour in Paris? I may be in line to set a record. Ask any of my friends or family…I really love things to stay the same. This is really ironic, given my life’s work is about helping people change. How can I encourage others to take risks, make changes or confront maladaptive patterns when I, for one, do whatever I can to keep things status quo? Additionally, how can I be the kind of parent I want to be, when my daughters are constantly growing and changing, challenging all of my desires for consistency and constancy?

 

O.K., now what does this have to do with baking (I find myself asking that question quite frequently)? Well, in reading the comments for this week’s Tuesdays With Dorie recipe (an absolutely incredible chocolate cream tart…more on that in a moment), I came across an entry from a woman who does not have a food processor (I’m sorry, I’ve forgotten your name). She was asking for recommendations for good models to consider. As I read her post (and the posts of others who confessed they made the tart dough without the help of a food processor), I felt sheepish as I thought about the fact I have two food processors! One, Cuisinart, that I purchased in 1982 and that has served me quite well until the bowl cracked a year ago. The second, my family gave me for my birthday last October as a replacement and until yesterday was tightly sealed in its original factory packing. It’s true. I have had the new 14-cup, high-powered Cuisinart in a corner in my kitchen unopened! That is, until yesterday when I made Dorie’s tart. There was something about the chocolate tart, and the aforementioned postings from food processor-less fellow bakers, that made me think I could do it. “Yes,” I thought,  “I can use a new piece of equipment.” Yes, I can learn to become accustomed to new controls and new ways to operate my food processor. Yes, I can change my baking routines that include my old machine. And change I did. And what do I have to show for that change? An incredible shiny new food processor that I seem able to work quite well and a luscious, rich chocolate tart that everyone in my family thinks is just about the best thing they’ve eaten since…well, last week. It really was perfect. Who knows? I might start drinking tea rather than coffee in the morning and traveling to the Southwest. Anything is possible!

3 Responses to “I Hate Change!!!”

  1. Kara Says:

    Hah! This weeks recipe is what pushed me over the edge to know that I HAVE to get a food processor. I killed my old one last fall making pizza dough and my life hasn’t been the same since. It’s time … !

  2. jenjw4 Says:

    I received my first food processor two Christmases ago. It took me a really long time to use it; I was definitely intimidated. That may be one of the great things about TWD, it pushed me to bring it out and get used to it. (Oh, and I hate change, too!)

  3. jane S Says:

    Good for you!! Sounds like a baking thermometer someone gave you. I have all the confidence in the world that you will master whatever you want. Stick with it and keep baking fabulous things.


Leave a Reply

