“She’s a Genius!”

May 26, 2009

I really thought this week was going to be different. When you last heard from me, I was completely swamped with sex-ed pot lucks, orchestra and band concerts, and circus events. I had imagined that by today, I would have had the entire weekend to bake Dorie’s brownies, take many pictures of my successful baking, and savor the opportunity to write a witty blog post about my experience and how it relates to my life in a larger sense. Well, it hasn’t exactly gone that way. I didn’t have a chance to take any pictures (I promise that will change next time I bake!) and I am once again quickly putting together a post on the fly. I do want to say, however, that I have been baking alot and really enjoying it. In addition to this week’s TWD recipe, I made the “Big Crumb Rhubarb Coffee Cake” from the New York Times and Elinor Klivans’ Black and White Cheesecake Cake (Chocolate cake on the bottom and cheesecake on top from Fearless Baking…really good). I also made Dorie’s Brownie-Chippers and as I noted above, my daughter believes that this recipe puts Dorie into the category of genius. The brownies turned out perfectly. I actually added a bit more unsweetened chocolate to the brownie batter than it called for because I was too lazy to put back 1 ounce of the Scharffenger bar back into my cupboard. I used white chocolate chips for the cookie part of the equation. The result? A VERY intense, rich brownie, cookie that is going to be my new “bring to any event” treat. I believe I baked it for less time than directed, but that just made it all perfect. I have a tendency to overbake everything (more on that another time), so this felt like a coup. Thank-you Dorie for giving us this recipe. My family and I will cherish it for years to come!

2 Responses to ““She’s a Genius!””

  1. uclala Says:

    Wow, it’s no wonder you didn’t have time to take any pictures – you were too busy baking all weekend!

  2. pamela Says:

    Sounds like it was a success!


Leave a Reply

