Celebrate!

June 30, 2009

The TWD recipe for this week’s Perfect Party Cake came at the ideal time. I had just welcomed back my youngest daughter from a successful first sleep-away camp experience and then I came down with a flu that resulted in my losing my taste for food, baking, working, walking, or even getting out of bed and ultimately passed it on to previously-mentioned camping daughter. Needless to say, last week was not a good one at my house. Then, the weekend arrived, I began to think about eating and it was time to do my weekend baking. Dorie’s cake was the perfect way to celebrate! I went back and forth about how, and if, to “play around” with her recipe. I ultimately made mine much like hers outside of adding local organic strawberries to the middle layer and deleting the coconut. I realized I had never before made a yolk-less white cake! My family was glad to welcome me back to the world and particularly glad that their cook/baker was back on board. My oldest daughter said, “I can’t imagine being at camp too long without your food.”  I can’t imagine being without all that she gives me, as well.

Cameron and Kate Enjoying the Party Cake

Cameron and Kate Enjoying the Party Cake

6 Responses to “Celebrate!”


  1. The girls certainly are enjoying that cake. Great pic.

  2. Leslie Says:

    What a cute photo! So sweet that your daughter doesn’t want to be without your food (who can blame her!). I think I’m catching what you had, I feel like I’ve been hit by a bus and my throat hurts.

    • bakingtherapist Says:

      I am so sorry! I went from feeling fine, to being completely out of commission in several hours. It was horrible! Hope you feel better soon.

  3. pamela Says:

    Glad to hear that you are feeling better! There certainly seems to be a lot of nasty little bugs floating around this year! What a sweet compliment from your daughter!! Glad you guys enjoyed the cake.

  4. jane S Says:

    glad the cake was a success and that you are feeling better!!


Leave a Reply

