Ice Cream…Yum!

July 28, 2009

IMG_0202

I typically get overwhelmed as I think about making ice cream. I start focusing on the number of steps involved, concern about the custard curdling, and having to pull out a large piece of equipment…my frozen Cuisinart ice cream maker. The reality is that it doesn’t take much more time than making a pan of brownies or a batch of cookies. This summer I have been happily making goat cheese ice cream, vanilla (pictured above), strawberry honey and this afternoon I have a batch of lemon ice cream on the schedule. Future ice creams on the list (made by my oldest daughter) include roquefort honey (yes!), olive oil, and tin roof. I’ll let you know how they turn out. In any case, Dorie’s vanilla was the perfect foil to her Katherine Hepburn Brownies. What a perfect dessert for a warm summer evening.

4 Responses to “Ice Cream…Yum!”

  1. Clivia Says:

    I, too, have learned this summer how simple and delicious homemade ice cream is. Love your pairing with the brownies!

  2. pampinnav Says:

    Wow! What a variety of ice creams you have ready to go. I hope you post about them, because they sound seriously interesting!

    • bakingtherapist Says:

      Thanks for your comment! You may want to check out my previous post that includes David Lebovitz’s recipe for goat cheese ice cream. Perfection!!!

  3. hotovenwarmheart Says:

    Hi Cynthia!

    I just wanted to stop by and introduce myself. I’m Joy (of Hot Oven, Warm Heart) and I’m one of the “newbie” SMS members. So far the experience has been wonderful, and it’s been such a treat getting to know many of the other bakers. I’m glad we’ll be baking together each week, and I hope we can stay in touch and talk after Sunday postings!

    Your ice cream and brownies look delicious. I also have a few flavors I’d like to make before the end of summer including David Lebovitz’s Tin Roof- if you do get to make it, please let me know what you think of the results! I’d love for you to stop by my site and say a quick hi if you have a chance- it’d be great to hear from you.

    Hope you’re doing well and have a fun and relaxing summer weekend 🙂

    -Joy
    http://hotovenwarmheart.wordpress.com/


Leave a Reply

