Baking to the Beat of a Different Drummer

August 11, 2009

My intentions were good! I have been enjoying some extra time and freedom in my summer schedule and was certain that I would be able to bake the Banana Bundt Cake last week and the Brownie Buttons this week. My bananas weren’t ripe in time for last week’s deadline, so I didn’t get to the cake until yesterday (quite a success!) and my efforts to bake the brownie buttons were interrupted by a sudden hit of  heat and humidity. I’m behind in my baking schedule! I look forward to reading what the rest of the TWD bakers are doing, but I have no brownie buttons to gloat over…maybe next week:).

Recent update! I did go home after reading the TWD site and baked the Brownie Buttons. I doubled the recipe, probably made each “button” too big (I ended up with 16, I believe), and baked them for about 13 minutes. I used Valrhona Extra-Amer and, as you might guess, these turned out super-intense! But….I’m marching along with the rest of the Tuesdays With Dorie Group. Yeah!  My daughter suggested an edition that would make these bites have a molten center. I wanted to plop a mini peanut butter cup in the center of each one. In any case…the recipe was a success.

One Response to “Baking to the Beat of a Different Drummer”

  1. hotovenwarmheart Says:

    Hi Cynthia!

    How are you? Your brownie buttons sound delicious, and I love your daughter’s idea of giving them a molten center…Mmmm! Is she your little sous chef in the kitchen?

    I’m super excited to be hosting SMS this week, and I really hope you will bake along with me. And if you’re interested in checking out last week’s truffles, feel free to drop by my site (don’t forget to say hello, it’s always lovely to hear from you!) Hope you’re doing well, and I look forward to talking to you again soon. Have a great rest of your week 🙂

    -Joy
    http://hotovenwarmheart.wordpress.com/


Leave a Reply

