TWD: Chocolate Souffle Dreams

September 8, 2009

I can’t really begin to tell you the amount of excitement I have had about this week’s TWD recipe: Chocolate Souffle.  A large part of my excitement is connected to the fact that for the last 5 years, or so, every January 1 when I have made my resolutions for the year I have stated, “This year I’m going to make a chocolate souffle.” At the end of each of these five years, as I’ve reviewed what I have and have not accomplished, I have had to face the fact that another year had passed and no chocolate souffle had been removed from my oven. I have made cheese souffles and even a couple spinach souffles, but up until yesterday I had never made a dessert souffle.

Some of the other aspirations that have been on my list have included: run 10 miles (done), travel to Australia (not done), bake 10 kinds of new cookies per year (done), get cement work done on the house (done), clean out my office (not done). Having an opportunity to complete a “resolution” that has been on my list for so many years was something that was quite exciting. Unfortunately, thinking about it for so long might have made my expectations too high. I’m not sure what the rest of the TWD bakers found, but my chocolate souffle did not turn out quite like I had hoped. I had my camera poised to take a picture, but the resulting souffle was a bit burnt on top and not attractive at all. I was afraid to open the oven too soon because of Dorie’s warning to not open the oven before the souffle is done. The chocolate flavor was extremely intense, thanks to the Valrhona chocolate I used, but the texture was somewhat dry. I paired my souffle with, of all things, David Lebovitz’s olive oil ice cream. My youngest daughter, who is typically rapturous in her praise of most things I bake, said, “Neither the souffle nor the ice cream would be very good on their own, but together they are quite tasty.” In some ways, I’d have to agree with her. Today, reflecting on what it means to have completed a goal and to feel disappointed with the results, I wonder what my next step should be. Do I keep trying to make a chocolate souffle that meets my expectations? Do I check it off my list and accept the defeat, only to choose something else to aspire to? Do I focus, instead, on perfecting Fallen Chocolate Souffle cakes, one of my favorite chocolate cakes to make? Whatever I decide, I am quite sure there will more chocolate souffles, of one sort or another,  in my future.

One Response to “TWD: Chocolate Souffle Dreams”

  1. teaandscones Says:

    Too bad it didn’t work out. Some did, some didn’t. You will try again, right!


Leave a Reply

