Autumn’s Endings and Beginnings

October 4, 2009

I have had a very difficult two weeks. A close friend passed away, leaving me with so many questions about life, death, friendship, and family. My friend was courageous; single-minded; determined; and much, much larger than life.

I have loved the fact that she really embodied so many contradictions. She was elegant and able to interact with people of the highest rank or station, yet always reminded people of her humble small town roots. She was constantly discussing her lack of college degree, yet could run circles around people with Ph.D., MD, and JD degrees. She loved nothing more than to call one of her friends with a piece of gossip, yet kept a confidence better than anyone I know. She faced a cancer that was more challenging than I could ever possibly imagine, yet she often told me she counted herself as the luckiest person in the world…too lucky to buy a lottery ticket and cheat others from the opportunity of winning. The world is a grayer, quieter, less optimistic place with her passing. I miss her.

Over the weekend, my family was lucky enough to spend time with her middle child, my 14-year old daughter’s best friend. We spent time watching movies, cooking soup, listening to music AND making the apple crumble that was this week’s recipe. While I am curious to read what the rest of you have written about it, I found the apples to be a bit too sweet. When I make the crumble again, I will add less sugar to the filling (now that’s not something you’ll hear from my mouth too often!). That being said, the crumble, like many apple desserts evokes the feelings of fall, the world beginning its winter hibernation, and feelings that things are coming to an end while they are also beginning. The perfect dessert for my family and friends at this time.

5 Responses to “Autumn’s Endings and Beginnings”

  1. Michelle Says:

    SOrry about your loss..it’s so hard to go through things like this. I pray you will get through this difficult time.

    Im glad the crumble turned out good..I thought it was to sweet too.

  2. Shandy Says:

    What a difficult time for you and I hope you can keep thinking about all the wonderful ways that made your friend so special to all around her (most especially you and the children). She sounds amazing!

    The crumble was sweet and I cut down on the sugar too.

  3. Karin Says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your friend- my heart goes out to you. Death can seem so unfair, especially when it leaves behind children without a mother. That is so kind of you to help her children through this difficult time. I will keep both of your families in my prayers.

  4. jane S Says:

    my thoughts are with you!!!! I made the breton apple cake you blogged about a while ago one of my favorites. thanks dear friend!!

  5. Michele Says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. What an awful thing to happen.


Leave a Reply

