Cranberry-Apple Crisp, Oh My!

November 11, 2009

I have to say, I just love the crisps in Dorie’s book. I was quite pleased to see this recipe as this week’s selection for the TWD baking group. What could be a better autumn fall Sunday night dessert than apple crisp? I followed the recipe fairly closely, but made the following changes: First, I really didn’t envision coconut in the crisp, so increased the oatmeal by 1/2 cup and omitted coconut. Second, I used 1/4 cup whole wheat flour, rather than all white. Third, I mixed the topping in a mixer to maintain the integrity of the oats, rather than using a food processor and lose the great oatmeal texture. And the results were…stupendous! My family was in apple crisp heaven (and continues to be as we eat some of the leftovers for most meals of the day). Thanks, Dorie for a go-to crisp recipe that will be used time and time again.

3 Responses to “Cranberry-Apple Crisp, Oh My!”


  1. Dorie has a way with a crumb topping! The cranberries and apples together were just delicious.

  2. teaandscones Says:

    Like all your subs. Sounds tasty

  3. karen Says:

    Hi, I’m helping out w/SMS and you’re one of the next bakers to host in 2010. Can you please email me your pick or whether or not you will be hosting?

    Thanks,
    karen


Leave a Reply

