Life Happens

December 6, 2009

I had the best intentions, I really did! Today, “fellow” SMS bakers are making an espresso cheesecake, something I had promised the group (and myself) that I would complete. As you look at this post,  you may notice that there are no blurry photos of cheesecake (at this point I am still doing my food photography with my iPhone). In fact, there is nothing on this post that would lead any reader to think that I had done any baking at all. Really…that is not the case. I found myself faced with a dilemma. As I told my family my baking plans for the week, my oldest daughter, Cameron, looked shocked and disappointed. She reminded me that this weekend was not only her first semi-formal dance, but the birthday of one of her best friends. She had promised Catie that I would bake her a chocolate birthday cake to have after the dance and she didn’t think that espresso chocolate cheesecake would fit the bill. It became clear to me what the priorities for the weekend would be…bringing my daughter to her dance (she’s on the far left), baking a cake for her dear friend, and letting my baking group know that I had not been able to take part in the assignment for today. Thanks for your understanding! I look forward to baking with SMS bakers in 2010. I am pleased to say, I will be hosting a recipe in January. Yahoo!! Stay tuned.

3 Responses to “Life Happens”

  1. Susan Says:

    I think your priorities are exactly where they need to be. Look forward to baking with you in January! Merry Christmas!

  2. jane S Says:

    she looks great!!! chocolate cake is far more important and thanks for your support!!!

  3. Shandy Says:

    I think your obligation to your daughter’s semi-formal dance and best friend’s b-day is definitely more important. I am glad you stopped by to say hello and I really wish I could sent you a slice because we have plenty to share. The cheesecake is very rich but delicious =). Merry Christmas!


Leave a Reply

