I’m Back

March 10, 2010

It has been more than a month since I have posted anything on my blog. I have been baking very little, having been sick for the last 5 or 6 weeks. I can honestly say I have not in any way been myself and I hope I am on my way back. I have, on occasion, been following the recipes and posts of other TWD and SMS bakers and have enjoyed imagining what the baking has been like. I must also confess that the main thing I have been baking over the last 6 weeks has been Dorie’s Sable variation that she wrote about in her blog after having visited Bretagne, I believe. Made with salted butter, cut up heath bars. and rolled in sugar, they have been one of the foods I have craved most during my convalescence. I have dough in my refrigerator right now, ready to be sliced when I complete this entry. If you haven’t tried them….well, I can’t recommend them highly enough. Really perfection.

So, with those cookies serving as the backdrop for the last weeks, I can say I was slightly disappointed with my performance with the thumbprints that were today’s TWD recipe. I had been thinking for some time how I wanted to make these. I finally settled on making them in mini-muffin pans to avoid spreading. I also wanted the jam to be well cooked, so I filled the cookies prior to baking rather than after. I think the mini-muffin thing would have been a great idea if I had buttered the pan. Since my pans are non-stick, I didn’t think it was needed, and I was wrong. I also thought the cookies were too nutty for my taste. I do think that using almond meal, rather than ground hazelnuts might have been better. Anyway, a reasonable first effort after many weeks and I look forward to more baking in the future. As LW says, “Bake on.”

Leave a Reply

