Mocha Walnut (Almond) Bundt Cake: TWD

April 6, 2010

It has been weeks since I have added anything to my blog. I continue to be recovering from my illness, and as I noted in my last post (I think), since I have been sick I have been repeatedly baking the same things or at least recipes that are very familiar. I have bags of my new favorite heath bar shortbread cookies in my freezer (the salty/sweet sable created by Dorie on her blog) and a fair number of Tish Boyle’s peanut bars…another favorite. I have been a part of two baking groups (TWD and Sweet Melissa Sundays) and have learned something about myself over the last few months. I have been fairly consistent about watching out for the recipe of the week on each baking site. I realized, however, that I find it difficult to take a recipe at face value. Several weeks ago, the Sweet Melissa’s recipe was carrot cake. Yum! I love carrot cake. However, I found it very difficult to just make the recipe that was in the book. Instead, I pulled out dozens of cookbooks, looked over the carrot cake recipes, compared them and then decided (ultimately) that I wanted to try the recipe in a different book. Since I was only going to be making one carrot cake (and likely not make another for months, I felt compelled to make the one that was going to be THE BEST). I felt guilty about this and then didn’t write up my experience.

So, when it was time to make this week’s TWD bundt cake, I felt worried I would never actually get to the point of making this cake, getting waylaid by other recipes. However, this recipe was unusual enough that I didn’t immediate see any points of comparison. I followed the recipe as laid out by Dorie, used almond meal rather than ground walnuts (I find them too bitter at times), and make the cake in two loaf pans rather than a bundt. It was….perfect. I loved the intensity of the mocha paired with the sweetness of the vanilla cake. It was really moist, not too dense, and perfect with coffee. Thank-you, Dorie, for another great recipe. I think I will be comparing other bundt cakes to this one in the future, which might get in the way of my straying too much from this recipe when other recipes are crying out to be tried.

One Response to “Mocha Walnut (Almond) Bundt Cake: TWD”

  1. Jessica Says:

    I hope you’re feeling a little bit better. I’m glad that you enjoyed this cake. I love almonds and I think they’d be a great substitute for the walnuts.


Leave a Reply

